North Carolina Application Process, DC
Application materials and the non-refundable application fee must be received by the NCBOCE office no later than 15 days prior to the exam date. Click here for a list of upcoming exam dates, times, and locations.
EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 1, 2018, RULE 21 NCAC 10 .0203 NORTH CAROLINA EXAMINATION, WAS AMENDED TO REDUCE THE MINIMUM PASSING SCORE FOR PART IV OF THE NATIONAL BOARDS FROM 475 TO 375.
Whether you are a chiropractic student or a licensed chiropractor from another state wishing to be licensed to practice in North Carolina, you must complete the application process as defined below. If you did not renew your NC license and allowed it to lapse, please view Lapsed Licenses.
To apply for licensure to practice chiropractic in the state of North Carolina, the following is required:
- Download and complete the following application forms. Mail the forms to the NCBOCE office address found at the bottom of this page.
- Application for Examination for Licensure to Practice Chiropractic
- Certificates of Good Moral Character
- Verification of Licensure (if applicable)
- Certification of Reading the General Statutes of NC
- Application Authorization and Release
- Reciprocity Verification Form (if applicable)
- Employee Missclassification Form
- A non-refundable application fee of $300. To pay by credit card click here.
- A background check is required before licensure. Applicants are required to undergo a fingerprint-based State Bureau of Investigation (SBI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) criminal history check.
For North Carolina residents:
Take the two-page live-scan fingerprint document to a local Sheriff or Police office that offers fingerprinting services. If your county does not offer live-scan fingerprinting, please contact us and we will provide manual fingerprinting cards and instructions
For Out-of-State residents:
Please email us your mailing address and we will provide manual fingerprinting cards and instructions. Contact your local Sheriff or Police office for assistance and additional details.
Note: It can take 4-8 weeks for your fingerprints to be processed. While you can take the NC Jurisprudence Exam without the background check completed, you will not receive your test results until after the background check is completed.
- Obtain official Baccalaureate Degree and Doctor of Chiropractic Degree* transcripts. Transcripts must be sent directly from the college to the NCBOCE office or submitted with your application in a sealed envelope from the college. Official electronic transcripts are also accepted if they are sent directly to firstname.lastname@example.org from the college.
* The Doctor of Chiropractic Degree is required for licensure; however, you may sit for the NC Jurisprudence Exam if your expected graduation date is within 60 days of the exam date. To sit for the exam, we require a letter from your chiropractic college registrar confirming that your expected graduation date is within 60 days of the exam date in question. Test results will not be communicated to you until official transcripts are received by the Board office and it is verified that you did, indeed, graduate within 60 days of taking the exam.
- National Board Requirements for NC Applicants. To be licensed in North Carolina, applicants must achieve a 375 or higher on each of the following examinations given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) Part I, Part II, Part III (WCCE), Physiotherapy and Part IV. National Board transcripts must be received by the NC Board office directly from the NBCE.
Waivers for all, or part, of the National Boards are allowed as specified in the graduation date criteria below:
- An applicant who graduated from chiropractic college before July 1, 1966 shall not be required to submit a score from any National Board examination;
- An applicant who graduated from chiropractic college between July 1, 1966 and June 30, 1986 shall be required to submit scores of 375 or higher on National Board Part I, Part II, and Physiotherapy; but, shall not be required to submit a score for Part III or Part IV;
- An applicant who graduated from chiropractic college between July 1, 1986 and June 30, 1997 shall be required to submit scores of 375 or higher on National Board Part I, Part II, Part III, and Physiotherapy; but, shall not be required to submit a score for Part IV.
In order to receive a license, an applicant who qualifies for a waiver of any National Board score shall take and pass the SPEC exam and satisfy all other requirements for licensure. For more information on SPEC, please visit the NBCE’s website.